Symbolic Journey pt.2

Forest I

Towering conifers enveloping me with the scent of pine I walk along a rough trail of wood chips scattered across the forest floor. I run my hand along the bark as I follow the path laid out before me. The warm orange light of the sunset seeps in through the canopy above me, casting a shadow effect similar to that of a pergola.

 

Bear

As I’m walking, I spot a clear patch to my left. In the centre a light brown teddy bear is sitting upright, almost as if it was staring at me. I don’t question its sudden appearance, as if I expected it. I choose to go with the flow and take the teddy bear with me. I set it on my backpack and continue my journey.

 

Key

I see the shine of something to my right, and turn my head. On the ground lay a small key. An antique key, but still beautiful as ever. Golden and ornate, decorated in gems. I take my backpack off to put the key in a safe place and realize my stuffed companion is gone. I figure I might have lost him and continue my journey.

 

Water

To my right, I hear a trickle, luring me closer. I walk up to the bank of a stream, staring into the clear water as it runs over large stones. A path of logs and rocks are laid out in front of me, and I use them to cross the stream, keeping my Timbs dry. The smell of pine gets stronger, and, accompanied by the sounds of chirping birds and prancing deer, I feel a sense of wonder and comfort.

Cup

After crossing the stream I walk to a cup placed on the bank beside me. I pick it up (with my right hand) and examine it. The teacup is simple; it’s got an ivory colour with a gold trim on the top and bottom. It’s clean and i good shape, save for a sal chip at the top by the round handle. I dip the cup in the stream and take a sip. The water is cool and refreshing, and tastes as clean as any bottled alternatives.

Edge of Forest

In front of me is a winding road. I’ve reached the edge of the forest. The road is empty, and it disappears into the forest in front of me. The forest behind me calls to me, trying to draw me back in. Across the road is another forest, but this one does not entice me-rather, it instills fear in me.

Flat Land

Picturesque rolling hills lay in front of me now. The terrain is covered in mossy boulders in some places, remindning me of Scotland and the pictures I’ve seen of it. The forest wraps around behind me. I feel free.

Building

Out of thin air, a rustic cabin makes itself known. It is made purely out of wood, but it looks clean and sturdy. There is no plastics and no technology in sight, just a peaceful cabin in the hills, with a forest and stream nearby. A dream home.

Enter Building

I enter the building using the key I found earlier. Inside is just as I expected. It seems larger inside than it did from outside. It feels like home-nice and cozy. I already know the layout to the house somehow and I make my way up to the bedroom. I sit down on the bed and ruminate. I plan to live here. I love it.

Window

Light shines in through the large window behind me. I move the curtains aside and look out to what is around me. t’s so calm and peaceful, being all alone with nature around me.

 

Featured Image

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply